Monday and Man

Monday and Man
Jude Ajaegbu

It’s a Monday morning
6:30am as usual, the alarm is calling.
wake up, wake up it said.
Who am I to disobey.

I did my morning rituals and head straight to work.
At least, that’s what everyone else thought.
But to me, I knew I went to a place of unpleasantness. Doing the same thing everyday for 2 years cannot be pleasant.

Here he comes, the man who takes pride in making money for others.
Good morning Sir I greeted. See me in my office was all I heard.

That was unusual, I chuckled at least something is different about the job today.

Am here Sir, as you requested. Yes I asked of you. Let me say this straight, the economy is not working in our favor these days. Am sorry but we have to let some good men go. Ok Sir, that is a good news. Really? Yes, since you called them good men, that means whatever happens after now, those men will be released to take charge of their own future. Rather than depending on someone else dream.

Well said then. You are one of them. We are sorry we have to let you go. With joy and smile, I asked, where can I sign sir.

That was my last day as a slave. Four years down the road, I run my world, Am my own boss. I no longer need the alarm to wake up. My dream is my alarm. Am in charge of my life and happiness.

One thought on “Monday and Man

  1. Pingback: Featured Writer: Jude Ajaegbu | Hangzhou Writers Association Intl

Leave a comment